(CANCELED) 9th Annual Harper Cancer Research Day


Location: The Morris Inn, Ballroom (View on map )

Research Day is an excellent opportunity to learn about cancer research being conducted in our community. This event includes a poster session, lectures and a keynote address.

Research Day is free and open to the public.

Registration is required for all poster presenters and appreciated from everyone wishing to attend.  Register HERE.


Edison T. Liu, M.D. is the president and CEO of The Jackson Laboratory. Previously, he was the founding executive director of the Genome Institute of Singapore (2001-2011) and was the president of the Human Genome Organization (HUGO) from 2007-2013. Between 1997 and 2001, he was the scientific director of the National Cancer Institute's Division of Clinical Sciences in Bethesda, Md., where he was in charge of the intramural clinical translational science programs.

Read more about Dr. Liu HERE


Abstracts will compete for oral presentation opportunities unless the Principal Investigator requests otherwise.  Abstract submission and formatting requirements HERE.  


Posters will be displayed on a 40”x60” board.  HCRI Awards will be given for first, second, and third place poster presenters at all levels. Contest open to Undergraduates, Medical Students, Graduate Students, Technicians, and Post-Doctoral Fellows at the University of Notre Dame or IU School of Medicine-South Bend. Posters will be evaluated based on visual components, content, and presentation. 


Graduate students and postdoctoral fellows at the Harper Cancer Research Institute (HCRI) have established a reputation for excellence in and out of the lab.  To honor these exceptional trainees, HCRI will be presenting three awards at our annual Cancer Research Day.  One award will be given in each of the three following categories:

  • Exceptional Community Outreach and Advocacy: Awarded to the trainee who best engages our partners to advance cancer awareness and education in our community and/or made a significant effort to support cancer patients.
  • Exceptional Mentor: Awarded to the trainee who has been nominated for their exceptional leadership in mentoring others.
  • Exceptional Team Science: Awarded to the trainee who best exemplifies HCRI’s foundation in interdisciplinary research through his or her commitment to collaboration.

Eligibility: Any graduate student or postdoctoral fellow affiliated with HCRI is eligible to receive the awards.   Any member of HCRI may nominate a graduate student or postdoc for one of these awards.  We encourage every member to take a few moments to consider whom he or she feels would be an appropriate awardee. 

Nomination Format (no more than 1 page):

  • First line: The name of the award (community, advocacy, or team science)
  • Second line: Nominee’s name, position (Graduate Student or Postdoctoral Fellow), and year
  • Third line: Your name and position
  • Body: Provide a complete and concise explanation for why the nominee is deserving of this award.

Submit to Aviva Wulfsohn at awulfsoh@nd.edu no later than 5 pm on Monday, March 16


Contact HarperCancer@nd.edu or 574-631-4100 for more information.